Address: 91 Leinster St, Saint John, NB E2L 1J2

(506) 657-4790
the meaning of

Yahrzeit

Yahrzeit s a Yiddish word meaning anniversary of a death. It is the yearly anniversary of a loved one’s death (traditionally the anniversary of the Hebrew date, not the Gregorian date). Jews observe yahrzeit at home by lighting a special long-burning candle in memory of the deceased.

yizkor candles

Yahrzeit candles are also known as yizkor candles, because they are also lit on behalf of loved ones on the four Jewish holidays (Yom Kippur, Shemini Atzeret, Passover and Shavuot) that include a Yizkor, or Jewish memorial, service.


It is customary to light the yahrzeit candle at sundown on the Hebrew anniversary (Jewish days begin at sundown, rather than midnight).

we remember

At Congregation Shaarei Zedek there are over 500 plaques in our Sanctuary with our loved ones names and dates of death.

We send out a weekly list of the yahrzeits for the coming week and turn on the memorial lights beside the appropriate name.

The Mourner’s Kaddish is recited as part of the Friday night Shabbat service.
This month

Yahrzeit

Yahrzeit is a Yiddish term that refers to the anniversary of a loved one's death, traditionally on the Hebrew date rather than the Gregorian date. On this occasion, Jews light a special long-burning candle at home in memory of the deceased.
Thu, Feb 29
Koven, Sam
Fri, Mar 01
Cohen, Edgar
Fri, Mar 01
Gold, Sarah
Sat, Mar 02
Jacobson, Hyman
Sat, Mar 02
Jacobson, Rebecca
Sat, Mar 02
Elman, Maurice
Mon, Mar 04
Fransblow, Edward
Tue, Mar 05
Fine, Morris
Wed, Mar 06
Budovitch, Ethel
Wed, Mar 06
Goldberg, Ruth
Wed, Mar 06
Koven, Joseph
Thu, Mar 07
Isaacs, A. Hart
Thu, Mar 07
Jacobson, Jacob W.
Fri, Mar 08
Bloom, Bernard
Sun, Mar 10
Levine, Lily
Mon, Mar 11
Koven, Marcia
Wed, Mar 13
Holtzman, Abram
Fri, Mar 15
Webber, Annie
Fri, Mar 15
Hart, Ronald S.
Sun, Mar 17
Neustadter, Murray
Mon, Mar 18
Dekel, Shlomo
Thu, Mar 21
Alperstein, Bernard
Sun, Mar 24
Lubin, David
Wed, Mar 27
Hamburg, Deborah
Sun, Mar 31
Kashetsky, Leah
CONTACT / LOCATION

Contact info

Address: 91 Leinster St,
Saint John, NB, E2L 1J2
Phone: (506) 657-4790
Email: info@shaareizedeksaintjohn.ca
Mailing Address: P.O. BOX 2041
Saint John, NB,  E2L 3T5

Gathering Times

Friday:
6:00pm - 7:00pm

Sunday:
10:00am

EVENTS / CALENDAR